Much Stands

Project 42_itop_04

So much will stand when I leave.
Most of what I am goes nowhere.
The shadow bit of me that is uncertain
needs no one’s pity or memory.

I will fall off the big stage laughing.
My parts were so simple anyway
that I lived almost invisibly, until,
eventually, all the subtlety had left.

This is great getting off so easily!
Any new place I find already holds me.
Everything seems to be gone,
but I know I won’t leave all at once.

This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Much Stands

  1. smilecalm says:

    knowing that you, in part
    will be around for some time
    makes me smile 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tanya Cliff says:

    Provocative picture and words, Tom. Loved this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

