Desert

IMG_8385_itop

Every day my own worst enemy says:
“Keep your mind open to
every one of my suggestions”.
Every hour I go into the desert for 40 days,
to avoid this wearisome discussion.

Out in the dunes I do my bargaining.
In storm-dust hours I cannot see
how close we have come.
Then he walks into my head without asking,

and just talks and talks.
I should call it substance abuse–
this continual, endless story
that is not even about me.

This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Desert

  1. Nina Trema says:

    “… he walks into my head without asking.” I think there’s no demon more evil on you than yourself. It’s like battling every day as a Jacob and his angel. Your poem catches the essence of this fight beautifully. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

