Listening

IMG_0462_itop

I came so near to your door.
I heard you breathe
behind the thick wood.
Today is different.
I start my search all over,
from scratch.
When noise enters my mind,
I die a brand new death.

Close to the start of any new life
is a pair of ears to pick up and put on,
no matter how well they fit your head.

Then when you hear,
it is the same as what you
heard before memory
and thought led you away.

Such sweetness of life
in forgetting what those around you
are hearing, so you may listen alone.

This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Listening

  1. leneska says:

    Great post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

