Ego

IMG_0246_itop

I am in my corner, barking if you come near.
Don’t approach or I will bite you!
Your poking stick is no threat to me,
so back off or I’ll snap it into pieces.

No matter what you toss at me,
just back off. We cannot be amicable
because I know your trickery.
You will try leading me into this moment

where I would perish in the strong light.
No, I will stay here in the yesterday
that you created for me to hide in,
where you keep me chained and starved.

You walk around smiling, with hardly a care.
Can’t you see how this diminishes me?
I’m warning you for the last time.
Your leash of presence is just killing me.

This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ego

  1. Deb says:

    Ahhh EGO…can’t live with it, can’t live without it!! Love this!! 🙂

    Like

  2. smilecalm says:

    for the sake of fang
    you can gobble
    me up 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

