Village Creek

IMG_9492_itop

What is this?
Blue skies cover this brown corner building.
How many years have my tires curved around it?
I could never see within, but am certain it is a club
for elderly gentlemen and, on weekends, their brides.
The ladies step out to the curb in long simple gowns,
like pent-up butterflies looking for safe flight.
Behind, the creek runs madly out to sea,
the mountains emptying and readying for the
next dizzy rain storm.
Otherwise, it’s a quiet morning in this California village.
I am repairing a drain pipe in my house
and need a new fitting to make the old and new
join together.
I swing by the post office to drop off a letter
to my daughter in Hawaii.
I park for a moment near the bridge.
I can hear the swollen creek.
The village is rumbling.
The line at the hardware store will be short.
The next burst of rain is hours ahead.

This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

