Save Flowers

"Save Flowers". Jessie Wilcox Smith

“Save Flowers”. Jessie Wilcox Smith

My sky of flowers too tall
for any more seeking ground;
this curious paradise
established about me
is filled only with life.

My open, right-sided self
ponders delphinium, fern, foxglove,
and the gentle, illuminated lily.

My empty left face
turns only to see how best
to ignore towering stocks
spearing into cloud drifts.

This divided mind asks:
How can I stay small
and never lose my zest
for colored radiance?

This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

