Better Soup

One afternoon when making soup,
my cupboards cluttered with
spices I never think to use,

I open the refrigerator
and find the things I bought
and never ate going bad on me.

So I toss it all in a pot,
let it simmer most of
one hour, then spoon out

a quick slurp. It tastes so bad!
I’ve wasted so much.
I should never have done this.

Perhaps by adding even more,
maybe even a wad of mustard,
or soy or something it will live;

but no, it’s actually worse
now than before. I would not pay
to hoist that spoon to lips again.

This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

