Now the Memory

Now the memory of Kauai
becomes more long-term,
less immediate,
as my skin lingers in colors of bronze
a little longer.

This day, so warm for winter–
I stay home in the forest
because so many have
come to the beach.

Yesterday was as if the 4th of July;
all warm clothing
seemed so out of place,
so out of familiar context
with February.

I noodle through the end
of the book I’ve read for weeks,
a second time reading it now,
the subject being that of my brain

and how it is so divided
and how the divisions
think in opposition to each other
without my knowing it.

Breaking up my lines
into shorter lengths
may not lengthen my life,
but may make the
moments seem more important.

This entry was posted in journal, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

