Retire

After experiencing a rather long and tedious work week, I take a long look at myself and what I am doing and decide that I have lived the corporate life long enough. In October I will have turned 64. I intended to retire at 62, when Social Security first kicks in, but my little house was badly in need of repair, and I knew I did not have the energy or skill to do the work. So I stayed on with the corporation nearly another two years to earn enough money to pay for some contractor help. Now that the remodel work is quite near completion, the thought came over me on Friday afternoon to unwind from all this busyness. I had intended to work until 64, but hated to see another summer go by with me locked up inside a building. Friday I applied to begin receiving Social Security and can expect my first check in August, so one of my feet is half way out the corporate door, but my heart is mostly out.

In another journal entry I hope to detail my 40 years of work experience, starting when tossing papers on door steps and picking fruit. I would like to return, however, to picking fruit.

This entry was posted in journal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

