Trade

Another day of rain, in which I see the ditch along my road swollen and carrying away all sense of drought. I would have gone for a walk last evening, except for the rain. I have not yet been cooped up enough hours and days to develop full cabin fever, but when it should come I may go sloshing about. Meanwhile, I savor this single morning cup of coffee, as my gradual breaking up of the addiction to caffeine continues. I expected to develop a strong headache that would nag me all day, but so far nothing noticeable. I only notice my mind operating in less of a racing mode, less on the edge. I am not sure what will be a normal feeling until I have cut loose all bonds with the drink, so will give it perhaps another week before I wake one morning to sip only a caffeine-free herbal tea. How strange that I have been drinking coffee these years not so much for the buzz, although I did often need one to get through the day, but mainly to avoid the pain of withdrawal symptoms. I can understand the greater addictions that people suffer.

I notice that I have not much missed the things I have stopped eating this past year. Meat I was pretty sure I could live without, as I had once experimented with the practice of not eating any for six months. Stopping the consumption of bread and cheese, oil and fat, salt and refined sugar, were the bigger challenge for me, but even that was much less difficult than I had imagined. The greater revelation to me is how pervasive these ingredients were in my diet.

I am still figuring out some of the basics of eating for the sake of nutrition rather than eating for satiety. Between reading books on the subject, internet articles, and label reading in food stores, I have learned enough to keep me away from what is toxic and what is merely an unhealthy choice. People around me, co-workers particularly, have been observing my change in eating habits and asking me questions about what I consider to be acceptable food. I guess they, like me, have been so accustomed to eating whatever is available in any store or restaurant in America, without considering that there might be consequences. The epidemic rise in obesity in America is primarily due to the flooding of our country with nutritionally poor food. The epidemic has come gradually, but is now accelerating. I find an adventure in eating natural, fresh, whole, organic food–mainly plants.

I hardly miss my blood pressure medication, which would often make me dizzy when I took it on days when my blood stream didn’t need it. I have felt such relief in losing those thirty pounds by eating mostly fresh fruit and vegetables. I want to lose another twenty, however, and so am now trying to understand why the weight loss that came so easily has now slowed. The sloppy sweatshirts I wear have now become extra sloppy, so I must trade them in for something smaller to match the new smaller me.

This entry was posted in journal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

